Learning About
ACCESSIBILITY

References

Content References

Accessible Canada Act. (2019). Summary of the accessible Canada act. https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/programs/accessible-people-disabilities/act-summary.html opens in new window

Americans with Disabilities Act. (n.d.) Information and Technical Assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act. https://www.ada.gov/ opens in new window

AODA: Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act. (2017). https://www.aoda.ca opens in new window

Auslander & Gold. (1999). Disability terminology in the media: a comparison of newspaper reports in Canada and Israel. Social Science and Medicine. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/10369439/ opens in new window

Cambridge Dictionary. (2021). Terminology. https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/terminology opens in new window

Canadian Association of Broadcasters. (n.d.). Recommended Guidelines on Language and Terminology: Persons with Disabilities. http://cab-acr.ca/english/social/diversity/disabilities/pwd_guidelines.htm opens in new window

CBC Media Centre. (2019). CBC announces 2019-2020 programing slate. https://www.cbc.ca/mediacentre/press-release/cbc-announces-2019-20-original-programming-slate opens in new window

CDA Canada. (2020). Communication and Social Justice. https://www.cdacanada.com/ opens in new window

CNIB. (n.d.). Blindness Myths and Facts. https://www.cnib.ca/en/sight-loss-info/blindness/blindness-myths-and-facts?region=on opens in new window

CSA. (2019). A Canadian Roadmap for Accessibility Standards. https://www.csagroup.org/article/research/a-canadian-roadmap-for-accessibility-standards/ opens in new window

Deaf Interpreter Institute. (2016). What is a Deaf Interpreter? http://www.diinstitute.org/what-is-the-deaf-interpreter/ opens in new window

Employment and Social Development Canada. (n.d.). Making an accessible Canada for people with disabilities. https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/programs/accessible-people-disabilities.html opens in new window

Government of Canada. (2016). Consulting with Canadians on accessibility legislation. https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/programs/disability/consultations/accessibility-legislation.html opens in new window

Government of Canada. (n.d.). Accessible Canada Act Visual Representations. https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/programs/accessible-people-disabilities/act-infographic.html#1 opens in new window

Government of Ontario. (n.d). Accessibility Laws. https://www.ontario.ca/page/accessibility-laws opens in new window

Government of Ontario. (n.d.). Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005, S.O. 2005, c. 11. https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/05a11 opens in new window

Harvard Literacy. (n.d.). Plain Language. https://accessibility.huit.harvard.edu/use-plain-language opens in new window

Historica Canada. (2020). Roland Galarneau, the inventor of the Converto-Braille. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgfX0ieNWnA opens in new window

Indigenous Language Act. (2019). Parliament of Canada Bill C-91. https://www.parl.ca/DocumentViewer/en/42-1/bill/C-91/first-reading opens in new window

J Source. (2019). Canadian Media needs to take further steps in recognizing diverse preferences in disability language. https://j-source.ca/canadian-media-needs-to-take-further-steps-in-recognizing-diverse-preferences-in-disability-language/ opens in new window

Kirby, A. (2016, August). Crip: A Story of Reclamation. NowThen. Retrieved from: https://nowthenmagazine.com/articles/crip-a-story-of-reclamation#:~:text=A%20collective%20of%20disabled%20people,are%20now%20reclaiming%20the%20word. opens in new window

Linton, S. (1998). Reassigning Meaning. Disability History Museum. http://www.disabilitymuseum.org/dhm/edu/essay.html?id=21 opens in new window

LPA. (2020). Little People of America Frequently Asked Questions. https://www.lpaonline.org/faq-#Definition opens in new window

MCSS. (n.d.). The words we used. https://www.mcss.gov.on.ca/en/dshistory/language/1850s_1940s.aspx opens in new window

National Center on Disability and Journalism, 2018. Style Guide. https://ncdj.org/style-guide/ opens in new window

National Disability Authority. (2020). What is Universal Design. http://universaldesign.ie/What-is-Universal-Design/ opens in new window

National Network. (n.d.) What is the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)?. https://adata.org/learn-about-ada opens in new window

National Eye Institute. (2020). Low Vision. https://www.nei.nih.gov/learn-about-eye-health/eye-conditions-and-diseases/low-vision opens in new window

Ontario Human Rights Commission. (n.d.) Appendix 1: Glossary of human rights terms. http://www.ohrc.on.ca/en/teaching-human-rights-ontario-guide-ontario-schools/appendix-1-glossary-human-rights-terms opens in new window

Ontario Human Rights Commission. (2013). Glossary of Human Rights terms. http://www.ohrc.on.ca/en/teaching-human-rights-ontario-guide-ontario-schools/appendix-1-glossary-human-rights-terms#:~:text=Accessibility%3A%20a%20general%20term%20for,free%20to%20persons%20with%20disabilities opens in new window

Ontario Human Rights Commission. (n.d.). Inclusive Design and the duty to accommodate. http://www.ohrc.on.ca/en/inclusive-design-and-duty-accommodate-fact-sheet opens in new window

Ontario Association of Sign Language Interpreters. (2021). What is an Interpreter? https://www.oasli.on.ca/index.php/interpreters/what-is-an-interpreter opens in new window

Public Works and Government Services Canada. (2015). Plain Language. https://www.btb.termiumplus.gc.ca/tcdnstyl-chap?lang=eng&lettr=chapsect13&info0=13 opens in new window

Rice, K. (2020). In The Canadian Encyclopedia. Indigenous Sign Languages in Canada. https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/indigenous-sign-languages-in-canada opens in new window

Statistics Canada. (2019). Canadian Survey on Disability. Statistics Canada-Canadian Survey on Disability, 2017 opens in new window

Sinead Burke. (n.d.). Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/CKoLFhHDo0F/ opens in new window

Sinead Burke. (n.d.). As Me. https://www.sinead-burke.com/as-me opens in new window

Ted Talk. (2017). Sinead Burke. Why design should include everyone. https://www.ted.com/talks/sinead_burke_why_design_should_include_everyone?language=en opens in new window

The Centre for Universal Design. (2008). About the Center: Ronald L. Mace. https://www.ncsu.edu/ncsu/design/cud/about_us/usronmace.htm opens in new window

The Canadian Encyclopedia. (2020). Plains Indigenous Sign Language. https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/indigenous-sign-languages-in-canada#:~:text=Plains%20Sign%20Language%20(PSL)%20(,the%20Cree%2C%20Dakota%20and%20Siksika opens in new window

The New York Times. (2021). Black, Deaf, and Extremely Online. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/01/23/us/black-american-sign-language-tiktok.html opens in new window

The Tyee. (2018). Fighting to Save Indigenous Sign Language. https://thetyee.ca/News/2018/09/13/Fighting-Save-Indigenous-Sign-Languages/ opens in new window

Tink. (2011). Design like you give a damn! https://tink.uk/design-like-you-give-a-damn/ opens in new window

Toronto Mad Pride (2021). What is Mad Pride. http://www.torontomadpride.com/what-is-mp/ opens in new window

TSLIS. (n.d.). Toronto Sign Language Interpreter Services. https://www.tslis.ca/ opens in new window

Without Walls. (2020). Resources. https://www.withoutwalls.uk.com/project-categories/resources/ opens in new window

World Wide Web Consortium. (2017). Accessibility. https://www.w3.org/standards/webdesign/accessibility opens in new window

World Health Organization. (n.d.). Disability. https://www.who.int/health-topics/disability#tab=tab_1 opens in new window

Image References

General

Header Background

Anne Zbitnew

Overview Icon

Shutterstock/Grimard

Terms and Concepts Icon

Shutterstock/Grimard

Module Highlights Icon

Shutterstock/Grimard

Downloads Icon

Shutterstock/Grimard

Task Icon

Shutterstock/Grimard

Spotlight Icon

Shutterstock/Grimard

Interview Icon

Shutterstock/Grimard

Microphone Icon

Vecteezy/Grimard

Guide Icon

Shutterstock/Grimard


LEARNING OUTCOMES

Anne Zbitnew


UNIVERSAL DESIGN

Anne Zbitnew


LANGUAGE

Anne Zbitnew


[language guide]

[language guide]


ACCESS SIGNS AND SYMBOLS

Anne Zbitnew


COMMUNICATION – Diverse approaches

Andrea Piacquadio/Pexels


BRAILLE

Anne Zbitnew


SIGN LANGUAGE

Ellie Burgin/Pexels


HEARING INTERPRETERS AND DEAF INTERPRETERS

Christopher Desloges


INDIGENOUS SIGN LANGUAGES

Image Courtesy of Garrick Mallery, Introduction to the Study of Sign Language Among the North American Indians: As Illustrating the Gesture Speech of Mankind (1880).


ACCESSIBIITY AND THE LAW

Cytonn

Photography/Pexels


To deepen your understanding, return to Blackboard and complete Module 1 Assessments opens in new window.