The JUNO nominations are out, and once again Humber alumni, staff and faculty put on a strong showing.

With representation on 20 nominations across 13 categories, the Humber nominees are:

Alternative Album of the Year


Tanya Tagaq

With voice and choir director Christine Duncan (Humber faculty)

The Element Choir includes:
Jill Richards, Jocelyn Barth, Elena Kapeleris, Lieke van der Voort, Angela Monkhouse,

Soren D’Alimnote (alumnae)

Mingjia Chen (Humber Music student)

Laura Swankey (faculty)

JUNO Fan Choice Award

Walk Off The Earth
Personnel includes alumnus Joel Cassady

Comedy Album of the Year

Sorry! A Canadian Album
K. Trevor Wilson, Comedy program alumnus

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year

Old School Yule!
Matt Dusk
With faculty members Shelly Berger (arranger) and Andy Ballantyne (saxophone)

No Filter
Michael Kaeshammer
With faculty members Denzal Sinclaire (vocal) and William Carn (trombone). Alumnus Devon Henderson plays bass.

Jazz Album of the Year: Solo

Hilario Durán (faculty)

Root Structure
Mike Downes (faculty)

Faculty members are Robi Botos on piano, Ted Quinlan on guitar and Larnell Lewis playing the drums

Artwork by Sanja Antic, Humber Music support staffer

Recorded, mixed & mastered by: Steve Bellamy, Dean of the School of Creative and Performing Arts

Assistant engineer: Andre St-Denis (alumnus and Humber Music staffer)

The Tide Turns
Brad Cheeseman (alumnus)

Personnel includes alumni Sam Kogen on piano and Robert Chapman on guitar

Jazz Album of the Year: Group

Andrew Downing’s Otterville
Personnel includes William Carn, trombone (faculty) and Tara Davidson, sax (Humber Community Music faculty)

Carn Davidson 9
With faculty member William Carn and Tara Davidson, Humber Community Music faculty

Personnel includes Kevin Turcotte on trumpet (faculty), and vocals by alumna Emilie-Claire Barlow

Ernesto Cervini’s Turboprop
Personnel includes William Carn, trombone (faculty) and Tara Davidson, sax (Humber Community Music faculty)

Instrumental Album of the Year

Kristofer Maddigan

Personnel includes faculty members Andy Ballantyne (saxophone/clarinet), Alex Dean (saxophone), Kevin Turcotte (trumpet), Robi Botos (piano), Paul Novotny (bass) and Neil Swainson (bass).

Featured alumni are John Johnson (saxophone/clarinet), Bob Leonard (baritone saxophone/clarinet), Dave Dunlop (trumpet), Steve McDade (trumpet/flugelhorn) and Christian Overton (trombone), as well as retired faculty member and alumnus Alastair Kay on trombone.

Five Alarm Funk

Personnel includes alumnus Eli Bennett on saxophone

Children's Album of the Year

Hear the Music
Fred Penner

Personnel includes faculty member William Carn on trombone

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year

Daniel Caesar

Co-produced by alumnus Matthew Burnett
Personnel includes alumni Ian Culley on guitar, Wes Allen on bass and Alex Ernewein on keys

Contemporary Roots Album of the Year

The Weather Station
The Weather Station
Personnel includes alumna Aline Homzy on violin

Bone on Bone
Bruce Cockburn

Personnel includes faculty member Roberto Occhipinti playing bass

World Music Album of the Year

Faculty members Dylan Bell and Suba Sankaran

The Trouble with Hari, one of the songs, was composed by faculty member Gord Sheard and co-written by Suba Sankaran

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year

“Get You ft. Kali Uchis”, “We Find Love” FREUDIAN – Daniel Caesar
Co-produced by alumnus Matthew Burnett

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year

Christmas Together
The Tenors

Personnel includes faculty member Steve Crowe on trumpet