Humber is ready to take the 2020 JUNOs by storm. Twenty faculty and alumni were nominated either as part of a group, as a contributor, or as a named nominee in 15 categories. The faculty and alumni represent three Humber programs: Bachelor of MusicIntroduction to Commercial Jazz Music and Comedy Writing & Performance.

Percussionist and full-time Bachelor of Music professor Mark Kelso appears on four nominated recordings, including his own. For three years in a row, Humber has at least one Comedy grad being nominated for the Comedy Album of the Year category.

“When it comes to preparing professional performers, Humber’s music and comedy programs are second-to-none,” said Guillermo Acosta, senior dean, Faculty of Media & Creative Arts. “Seeing former students nominated alongside their professors is a testament to the importance of creative communities in fostering extraordinary talent.”

Read on for the full list of JUNO categories with Humber nominees:

Jazz Album Of The Year: Solo

Absolutely Dreaming
Ted Quinlan (retired Humber Music faculty)
*Band personnel includes Brian Dickinson (Humber Music faculty), Kieran Overs (Humber alumni/faculty), Alan Han (Humber Music alumni/faculty), and Steve Bellamy (former Dean of SCAPA)

The Chronicles of Fezziwig
The Mark Kelso Jazz Project (Mark Kelso, Humber Music faculty)
*Band personnel includes Mike Downes (Humber Music faculty), Gord Sheard (Humber Music faculty), Brian Dickinson (Humber Music faculty), Pat LaBarbera (retired Humber Music Faculty), and Ted Quinlan (retired Humber Music faculty)
*Mixed by Andrew Mullin (Humber Music faculty)
*Artwork by Sanja Antic (Humber College staff)

Jazz Album Of The Year: Group

Al Muirhead's Canadian Quintet 
*Includes Neil Swainson (Humber Music faculty)

Trouble in Mind
Dave Young Trio
*Includes Kevin Turcotte (Humber Music alumni/faculty)

Ernesto Cervini’s Turboprop (Ernesto Cervini, Humber Music faculty) 
*Band personnel includes William Carn, and Adrean Farrugia (Humber Music faculty)

Vocal Jazz Album Of The Year

Monkey House 
*Incudes Mark Kelso, Pat Kilbride, and William Carn (Humber Music faculty)

Instrumental Album of the Year

The Silent Wish
*Includes Bill McBirnie and Bernie Senensky (Humber Music faculty)

SymphRONica UpfRONt
Ron Davis’ SymphRONica
*Includes Mike Downes (Humber Music faculty)
*Band personnel includes Aline Homzy (Humber alumna)

Group Of The Year

Walk Off the Earth
*Band personnel includes Joel Cassady (Humber Music alumnus)

Pop Album of the Year

Walk Off the Earth
*Band personnel includes Joel Cassady (Humber Music alumnus)

Country Album of The Year

Wild As Me
Meghan Patrick (Humber Music Alumna)

R&B/Soul Recording Of The Year

Daniel Caesar
*Band personnel includes Matthew Burnett, Alex Ernewein and Liam Mitro (Humber Music alumni)

The Gumption
Tanika Charles
*Band personnel includes Ben Foran (Humber Music alumnus)

Contemporary Roots Album Of The Year

Justin Rutledge
*Includes Drew Jurecka (Humber faculty)

Traditional Roots Album Of The Year

Natalie MacMaster
*Band personnel includes Mark Kelso (Humber faculty)

Breakthrough Group of the Year

*Includes Karah McGillivray (Humber music alumna)

Adult Contemporary Album Of The Year

Both Sides
Marc Jordan
*Includes Drew Jurecka (Humber faculty)
*Band personnel Mark Kelso (Humber faculty)

World Music Album Of The Year

Romina Di Gasbarro
*Produced by Roberto Occhipinti (Humber faculty)

Best Comedy Album

I'm Not Well
Steph Tolev (Humber Comedy alumna)

Congratulations to all of Humber’s 2020 JUNO nominees!