Skip to content

The Barrett CTI is a world-class facility, purpose-built to encourage innovation, applied research, project-based learning with industry and community partners.    


Rather than traditional classrooms and laboratories, the Barrett CTI provides 93,000 square feet of open concept gathering spaces, cutting-edge prototyping labs and makerspaces, interactive technology zones, digital media studios and demonstration areas for showcasing new products and technologies. Among the building's unique highlights are its sustainability features, hotel suites and Indigenous cultural marker.


An inside room and outside face of the Barrett CTI with a yellow and a purple circle background respectively


In keeping with Humber’s long-standing commitment to sustainability, the Barrett CTI is built to achieve LEED-Platinum certification and is a net-zero energy building, offset by solar panels on the Humber North Campus parking structure. The Barrett CTI incorporates features that also function as teaching tools, such as a passive cooling system, a high-performance roofing system and building envelope, hydroponic in-floor heating, a green roof and rain garden.

Images of hotel room two and three in a blue circle outline and green circle outline respectively


The Barrett CTI features three hotel rooms which accommodate external guests working on longer-term projects within the Barrett CTI. The hotel functions as a learning lab for Hospitality and Tourism students to be part of its operations.


totem pole in a pink circle outline


The Anishinaabe path of life tells us of our creation, journey, and destination. As human beings, we are all given the gift of life. In living and learning across the 7 Stages of Life, we come to see that we are all interconnected. The way we encounter life in one stage affects not only the paths we take but also our interconnection with all beings. When we pass on knowledge and experience, we ensure the next generation is able to walk a long and healthy life. We continue this process in a never ending cycle of interconnection, each generation taking care of the next.

Representing the spirit who enters and walks across the 7 Stages of Life, as told within the Anishinaabe Life Path story, Anishinaabeyaadiziwin Miikana is a symbol of Anishinaabeg history and longstanding presence. It features lighting that is infinitely glowing, teachings that mark the seasonal shifts of the solstice and equinox, and histories that came before human beings entered the world. The Path of Life Teaching takes us back to the beginning of the road and highlights paths that were given to us by the Creator.

The 7 Stages of Life are:

  1. The Good Life
  2. The Fast Life
  3. The Wandering/Wondering Life
  4. The Truth Life
  5. The Planning Life
  6. The Doing Life
  7. The Elder Life