Skip to content
  • Student with backpack on overlooking a city

SERVICE LEARNING

Service-learning is an opportunity to work cooperatively with members of a community abroad on locally-identified community needs.

Service-learning differs from internship experience or volunteer work in its intention to equally benefit the provider and the recipient of the service, as well as to ensure equal focus on both the service being provided and the learning that is occurring. Community partnerships are based on sustainability, reprice and mutual respect.

Reflection integral to all service-learning programs. Guided reflection will transform your experience into genuine learning about your individual values and place in the world - and how we are all interconnected.

Guatamala trip video image

Watch the video to learn how Humber's Health Science students are learning from and with communities abroad in Guatemala.

Nicaragua trip video image

Watch the video to see how Humber's Tourism students are learning from and with communities abroad in Nicaragua.

INTERESTED?

International service-learning trips are typically coordinated by individual academic schools at Humber. To learn more, contact:

Academic SchoolContactEmail
  • School of Applied Technology
Elizabeth Fenuta, Professor and International Initiatives elizabeth.fenuta@humber.ca
  • School of Creative and Performing Arts
Erika Heitler, Administrative Assistant erika.heitler@humber.ca
  • School of Health Sciences
Mutiara Samosir, International Coordinator mutiara.samosir@humber.ca
  • School of Hospitality, Recreation and Tourism
Judy Hebner, Program Coordinator, Study Abroad judy.hebner@humber.ca
  • School of Media Studies and Information Technology
Aimee Ferre, Study Abroad and Placement Assistant  aimee.ferre@humber.ca
  • School of Social and Community Services
Stephanie Byer, Administrative Assistant stephanie.byer@humber.ca
  • The Business School
Kathleen Meagher, International Coordinator  kathleen.meagher@humber.ca 
  • General 
Ashley Tinoco, International Mobility Coordinator  ashley.tinoco@humber.ca