A smiling person poses for a photo on a red carpet in front of a backdrop that has writing on it.

Humber College graduate Marsha Greene won 2023 Canadian Screen Awards in the Best Drama Series category and in the Best Writing, Drama Series category for “The Porter.” George Pimentel photo.

Nearly 20 Humber College alumni were victorious at the 2023 Canadian Screen Awards.

Each year, the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television presents the Canadian Screen Awards to honour the country’s best and brightest in the industry. This year, 41 alumni and Humber-affiliated talent representing a range of Faculty of Media and Creative Arts programs were nominated.

The awards were announced throughout Canadian Screen Week and at the main ceremony on April 16.

A person holding an award stands on a red carpet in front on a backdrop with writing on it.

The winners are:

• James Bastable – Achievement in Sound Mixing for “Brother”  

• Anita Nittoly – Best Stunt Coordination for “Pretty Hard Cases”

• Sara Murray – Best TV Movie for “Swindler Seduction”

• Marsha Greene – Best Drama Series for “The Porter"; Best Writing, Drama Series for “The Porter”

• Bilal Baig – Best Comedy Series for “Sort Of"; Best Writing, Comedy for “Sort Of"; Best Lead Performer, Comedy for “Sort Of”

• Jeff Thrasher – Best Reality/Competition Program or Series for “The Amazing Race Canada”

• Vance Banzo and Tim Blair – Best Sketch Comedy Program or Series for “TallBoyz”; Best Writing, Variety or Sketch Comedy for “TallBoyz”

• Thea Gagliardi – Best Sketch Comedy Program or Series for “TallBoyz”

• Jennifer Paterson – Best Performing Arts Program for “Buffy Sainte-Marie: Starwalker”; Best Live Entertainment Special for “The 2022 JUNO Awards”

• Jason McKenzie – Best Pre-School Program or Series for “Paw Patrol”

• Roz Weston – Best Host, Web Program or Series for “ET Canada Live”

• Kati Mason – Best Morning Show for “CBC News Morning Live with Heather Hiscox”

• Kevin Hazlehurst and Brandon Ash-Mohammed – Best Writing, Lifestyle or Reality/Competition for “Canada's Drag Race”

• Graham Chittenden – Best Writing, Factual for “Still Standing”

• Mitch Connors – Best Sound, Animation for “Paw Patrol”

• Jacob Frenkel – Best Sports Opening for “Toronto Raptors Season Opening”

• Mike Langevin – Best Live Entertainment Special for “The 2022 JUNO Awards”

• Sandy Pereira – Best Picture Editing, Drama for "The Porter"

Find out more by visiting the Academy’s website.