Ready for your first semester at Humber?

Join all or any of these six free workshops and find out! No need to register, just show up. Each workshop is 60 minutes long and will also feature prizes and the chance to meet other first-year students. The Strong Start workshops will begin the Monday January 25, 2021 and continue until Friday March 5, 2021.  You will find the schedule for each week below with the date and time of the workshop.

All workshops will be hosted in Blackboard Collaborate through this link: 

Strong Start Workshops

If the above link does not work, please copy and paste the following in your browser: https://ca.bbcollab.com/guest/2a7032a4b9b54882a300ec91a3079ef4


Workshop 1 - COLLEGE 101

This workshop is focused on introducing new students to the FYE and all that the program has to offer. 

Date

Time

Presenter

Monday January 25

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Jacob

Wednesday January 27

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Sowmiya

Thursday January 28

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Aliea

Friday January 29

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Christian


Workshop 2 - WE GOT YOU

This session will introduce participants to campus programs, services and resources that are available to access for support. Students will be shown how to use these supports for success. 

Date

Time

Presenter

Tuesday February 2

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Lisa

Wednesday February 3

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Meshanda

Thursday February 4

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Amanpreet

Friday February 5

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Sammie


Workshop 3 - FINDING BALANCE

This workshop is focused on helping students find and organize a balance between their school and life commitments. 

Date

Time

Presenter

Monday February 8

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Lin

Wednesday February 10

10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Valentina

Thursday February 11

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Kanishka

Friday February 12

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Ashana


Workshop 4 - PROJECTS AND EXAMS ALREADY?

This workshop is designed to enhance student’s strategies for academic success. Participants will explore different strategies and supports to aid them. 

Date

Time

Presenter

Wednesday February 17

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Zainab

Thursday February 18

10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Lucia

Thursday February 18

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Aliea

Friday February 19

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Christian


Workshop 5 - GETTING INVOLVED ON CAMPUS

This workshop focuses on the importance of getting involved on campus for academic and career success. Participants will learn about different involvement opportunities available on campus. 

Date

Time

Presenter

Tuesday February 23

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Meshanda

Wednesday February 24

10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Erica

Thursday February 25

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Amanpreet

Friday February 26

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Sammie


Workshop 6 - WELLNESS / WRAP-UP

The final workshop concentrates on self-reflection & setting SMART Goals for academic & personal success, including exploring wellness tips such as healthy sleep patterns.  

Date

Time

Presenter

Tuesday March 2

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Valentina

Wednesday March 3

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Sowmiya

Thursday March 4

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Kanishka

Friday March 5

12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Ashana